Search property for sale in mimaropa

Facts About Mimaropa

The Southwestern Tagalog Region, officially designated as MIMAROPA Region, is an administrative region in the Philippines. It was also formerly designated as Region IV-B until 2016. It is one of two regions in the country having no land border with another region (the other being Eastern Visayas). The name is an acronym combination of its constituent provinces: Mindoro (divided into Occidental Mindoro and Oriental Mindoro), Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan.
The region was part of the now-defunct Southern Tagalog region until 17 May 2002. On 23 May 2005, Palawan and the highly urbanized city of Puerto Princesa were moved to the region of Western Visayas by Executive Order No. 429. However, on 19 August 2005, then-President Arroyo issued Administrative Order No. 129 to put in abeyance Executive Order No. 429 pending a review. On 17 July 2016, Republic Act No. 10879 formally established the Southwestern Tagalog Region to be known as the MIMAROPA Region discontinuing the "Region IV-B" designation, however no boundary changes were involved.
Calapan is Mimaropa's regional center. However, most regional government offices such as the Department of Public Works and Highways and the Department of Budget and Management are in Quezon City, Metro Manila.