Mauritius Facts Capital: Port LouisGovernment Type: Parliamentary democracyCurrency: MURPopulation: 1,322,238Total Area: 788 Square Miles2,040 Square KilometersLocation: Southern Africa, island in the Indian Ocean, east of MadagascarLanguage: English (official), Creole, French (official), Hindi, Urdu, Hakka, Bhojpuri LanguagesEnglish (official), Creole, French (official), Hindi, Urdu, Hakka, Bhojpuri.   The Mauritian People   Most Mauritians speak French and say “Bonjour” or “Salut” when greeting one another accompanied with a handshake. Alternatively, if it's between friends, they may say “Korek?” or “Ki position? (how are things?)” To get someone's attention you would say “S'il te plait (Please)” Personal space is important, however eye contact is not required. Where to find more out about Mauritius Mauritius NewsMauritius Tourism Authority